The Apostles' Creed

        The following Version is from the Church of England Book of Common Worship:

        I believe in God the Father Almighty,

        Maker of heaven and earth:
        And in Jesus Christ his only Son our Lord,
Who was conceived by the Holy Ghost,

Born of the Virgin Mary,

Suffered under Pontius Pilate,

Was crucified, dead, and buried:

He descended into hell;

The third day he rose again from the dead;

He ascended into heaven,

And sitteth on the right hand of God the Father Almighty;

From thence he shall come to judge the quick and the dead.
I believe in the Holy Ghost;
The holy Catholic Church;

The Communion of Saints;

The Forgiveness of sins;

    The Resurrection of the body,

And the Life everlasting.


The Roman Catholic Version

This version maintains the traditional division into twelve articles, the text being numbered accordingly:

1. I believe in God, the Father almighty, creator of heaven and earth.
2. I believe in Jesus Christ, his only Son, our Lord.
3. He was conceived by the power of the Holy Spirit and born of the Virgin Mary.
4. He suffered under Pontius Pilate, was crucified, died, and was buried.
5. He descended into hell. On the third day he rose again.
6. He ascended into heaven and is seated at the right hand of the Father.
7. He will come again to judge the living and the dead.
8. I believe in the Holy Spirit,
9. the holy catholic Church, the communion of saints,
10. the forgiveness of sins,
11. the resurrection of the body,
12. and life everlasting.

Please Note: The interested reader would do well to pursue an independent study of this Creed's history, sources, and relevance to Christian orthodoxy, and also it use in the church today, both Eastern and Western.

General Articles                                                               

 Preach The Word